# **Central Texas School Food Service Directors Association** 5/12/2022 2:00 P.M. **ZOOM MEETING**

## **Summary of Meeting**

**Present Present** President- Edward Wayner - Gonzales ISD

Secretary-Jeni Anders – Thorndale/Thrall ISD Treasurer - Carlette Drabek - Navarro ISD Industry Liaison - Candy Biehle- Smithville ISD

Website - Kancy DeGrate - Temple ISD

Kayla Earnshaw – Burnet ISD Jacob Galvan – Seguin ISD

Sharon Glosson - North East ISD/TASN

Lillian Barnett – Florence ISD Janie Ramirez – Southside ISD

Ross Schonhoeft – Medina Valley ISD

Veronica Villarreal – ECISD

Adelle Freeman-Wright – LaVernia ISD

Jenny Arredondo - SAISD

Melissa Bryan – Copperas Cove ISD

Linley Danner – Austin ISD Mariza Chapa – Southside ISD Jessica Heathcock – Llano ISD

Louisa Kates - NEISD Jennifer Sides – SAISD Ramona Love - ECISD

Brenda Rodriguez -Ft. Sam Houston

Allisan Ramos – SAISD

Sandra Speed – Medina Valley ISD

Thomas Wherry - NISD Jennifer Sides - SAISD

#### **Business Items:**

- 1. 2:05 p.m. Meeting called to order by President, Edward Wayner
- 2. Secretary's report: Motion by Candy Biehle and seconded by Kancy DeGrate to approve the report as written and distributed via email. By unanimous vote the secretary's report was approved.
- 3. Carlette Drabek presented the treasurer's report. Our current balance is \$27,539.02. Motion by Jeni Anders and seconded by Melissa Bryan to approve the report as presented. By unanimous vote the treasurer's report was approved.
- 4. Winter Symposium Comments:
  - a. Candy did a great job taking care of the Industry side
  - b. We had a great turnout -54 vendors, 44 attendees
  - c. Lots of positive comments; nice venue, fabulous accommodations, 3 hr vendor show was perfect amount of time, would like to host the next event
  - d. TDA update Laura did a great job
  - e. Carlette Drabek reported the revenue and expenditures from the WS event:

Industry Revenue	\$12,400.00		
District Revenue	\$2,325.00		
Hotel Expenses		\$5,577.50	
Misc Expenses		\$50.00	
Pins		\$91.35	
Jr. Books		\$564.52	
Sam's		\$213.45	
Walmart		\$131.40	
Band		\$600.00	
	\$14,725.00	\$7,228.22	
Balance after exp.			\$7,246.78

- 5. August Academy Jeni Anders/Secretary will send out a survey for possible dates, location, topic suggestions & how many directors & managers may be able to attend.
- 6. TASN Update by Sharon Glosson Summer Conference extended dates now 2 day vendor show- June 26-29, 2022. Fort Worth, TX. Registration is open now.
- 7. Nomination Committee Janie Ramirez-Chair, Melissa Bryan & Ramona Love sent in nominations for Adelle Freeman Wright- LaVernia ISD and Jeni Anders Thorndale/Thrall ISD as President Elect/President and Ramona Love –East Central ISD as Secretary for SY 22-24. Board nominations were sent out by google survey. Results for SY 22-24 board were Jeni Anders President Elect/President and Ramona Love as Secretary. Carlette Drabek made a motion to accept the votes as presented and Melissa Bryan seconded. By unanimous vote the new board members was approved.
- 8. Scholarship Committee Report—The committee Candy Biehle Chair, Jeni Anders, Rhonda Cloud reviewed all submissions and used the previously approved "Score Sheet" to rank the applications.

## **Application Facts:**

- 9 Applications were received
- 3 Male applicants and 6 Female applicants

Several districts were represented with applications: North East ISD, Thorndale ISD, Smithville ISD, LaGrange ISD, Copperas Cove ISD and Thrall ISD

9 High School Seniors 0 existing college student

### Recommendations:

- Gabriel Maldonado, high school senior, Smithville ISD Smithville HS \$1,500.00
- Emilee Baker, high school senior, Thorndale ISD Thorndale HS \$1,500.00
- Paul Santagate, high school senior, Copperas Cove ISD Copperas Cove HS \$1,000
- Shelbi Druesdow, high school senior, Thrall ISD Thrall HS \$1,000
- Austin Steubing, high school senior, Smithville ISD Smithville HS \$500.00

Motion by Kancy DeGrate and seconded by Lillian Barnett to approve the student recommendations with a \$1500 scholarship for 1<sup>st</sup>-2<sup>nd</sup> place, \$1,000 for 3<sup>rd</sup>-4<sup>th</sup> place and \$500 for the 5<sup>th</sup> place recipient. By unanimous vote the recommendations were approved.

Next Meeting - the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the new school year - In Person – September 21, 2022 9:00 a.m., Texas 20 Product Show @ Freeman Coliseum Expo Hall in San Antonio.

Meeting Adjourned @ 2:48pm: Jeni Anders motioned; Candy Biehle seconded.

Open Discussion after zoom meeting: